Tuesday, 15 January 2013

Review: Last Season In Numbers

2012 is gone, with all the excitement, drama and eventual disappointment as we lost the league on the last day of the season. This disappointment was made slightly more bearable by the fact that we we won 2 cups and none of us ever thought we'd finish as runners -up given the terrible start we had at the beginning of the season. Before we delve into the new season, here are some numbers that were served up last season. 

37 - K'ogalo scored a total of 37 league goals in the season, compared to the 27 it scored in 2011. Gor's best year in terms of league goal hauls in the last 5 seasons was however in 2009 when it scored 38 goals, one more than last season. In 2010 Gor scored 33 goals while the worst season in the last 5 years in terms of goals scored was in 2008 when it scored a paltry 18 goals. 

12 - Rama Salim and Dan Sserunkuma both scored 12 league goals, the highest by a Gor player in the last 5 seasons. Previously, George "Blackberry" Odhiambo had scored 8 in 2010 and 2009. This was also the first time a K'ogalo player had breached the double figure digit in the last 5 seasons. Sserunkuma finished the league with 17 goals, having scored 5 goals for City Stars in the first leg of the season, emerging as the second highest scorer behind Sofapaka's John Baraza. 

15 - Rama Salim scored a total of 15 goals in all competitions for Gor, emerging as its highest overall scorer. In just one season, Rama is only a goal behind George "Blackberry" Odhiambo's current record haul of 16 goals, scored over 2 season. (Note that these stats apply for only the past 5 seasons). The top 5 goal getters for Gor in the past 5 seasons are as follows:

   1. George Odhiambo "Blackberry" - 16
   2. Rama Salim - 15
   3. Dan Sserunkuma - 12
   4. Baldin Ngwa - 10
   5. Julius Owino "Awilo" - 9
   5. Kevin Omondi "Daddy" - 9

15 - 15 players managed to score 51 goals for Gor in all competitions. These were: Rama Salim (15), Dan Sserunkuma (12), Ivan Anguyo (4), Edwin Lavatsa (3), Baldin Ngwa, George Midenyo, Ali Abondo, Moses Odhiambo, Kevin Omondi and Itubu Imbem (2) and 1 each for Chris Wekesa, Hugo Nzoka, Dan Makori, Joseph Njuguna and Moses Otieno. 

More review stats will follow shortly