Sunday, 12 August 2012

K'ogalo Poised For A First League Double Over Sofapaka

Gor take on Sofapaka in a match neither can afford to lose if they are to keep up with the league’s pacesetters, Ingwe. A win for K’ogalo will see them leapfrog Thika and Ulinzi into 4th position while a win for Sofapaka will see them narrow the gap at the top to 5 points. Now for some interesting stats on this match up.

Sofapaka has not been K’ogalo since their first match upon promotion to the top tier. They won that match 2-1 on 4th April 2009 and since then K’ogalo has beaten them twice and drawn four times. A win for K’ogalo will see them complete their first double over Sofapaka and win their 5th consecutive league game. It  is also interesting to note that before Rama Salim’s first leg goal, only 2 Gor players had ever scored against Sofapaka in the league, George Odhiambo “Blackberry” twice in 2009 and Julius Owino twice in 2010.

K’ogalo has played Sofapaka 7 times in the league, winning twice and losing once while four games have ended in draws. For 2 consecutive seasons (2010 and 2011), the two played to 4 consecutive draws. Only Mathare United has held K’ogalo to more consecutive draws in the league over the past 5 season, a streak of 5 which is currently running from the beginning of 2010 season. If this game ends in a draw, Sofapaka will join Karuturi on 5 games in holding K’ogalo to draws in the last 5 seasons, one less than Mathare United at 6.

If Rama Salim scores, this will be his 10th goal for K’ogalo in the league (and 12th in all competitions), thus becoming the first K’ogalo to go into double figures in the league for the first time in the last 5 years. A win for Gor will also be their 4th double of the season having so far done a double over City Stars, Chemelil, and KCB. In the last 5 seasons, Gor has not done a double over more than 3 clubs, perhaps explaining why they have not won it! Here is a list of K’ogalo league doubles over the last 5 seasons.

2012: City Stars, KCB, Chemelil
2011: Western Stima, Thika United
2010: Mahakama, Rangers, Thika United
2009: Red Berets, Tusker FC
2008: Mahakama, Mathare Youth

No comments:

Post a Comment